Donate Now
The Lark Timeline

Rita Goldberg Playwrights' Workshop

The Rita Goldberg Playwrights’ Workshop Program is an annual residency program that gathers five playwright fellows at various career stages.  Created and facilitated by Arthur Kopit and a rotating group of esteemed playwrights including Tina Howe, David Henry Hwang, Lynn Nottage, Theresa Rebeck, Jose Rivera, Doug Wright and others, Goldberg Fellows meet in twelve bi-weekly sessions throughout the year, sharing excerpts of new work in progress, read cold by a group of high caliber actors in an informal but rigorous laboratory environment.  As part of their residency, fellows are provided an opportunity in May of each year to present a public reading of work developed in these sessions, as an extension of the workshop process.